top of page


27 May 2017

Viewing Figure: 5.79M


A pyramid appears out of thin area which contains aliens which predict extinction of all life on Earth 


Peter Capaldi (The Doctor), Pearl Mackie (Bill), Matt Lucas (Nardole), Togo Igawa (Secretary General)

Nigel Hastings (The Commander), Eben Young (Colonel Don Brabbit), Rachel Denning (Erica), Tony Gardner (Douglas

Andrew Byron (Ilya), Daphne Cheung (Xiaolian), Ronke Adekoluejo (Penny), Jamie Hill (Monk), Tim Bentinck (Voice of the Monk)

Uncredited Cast

Sam Rush, Liam Carey, James O'Neill, Andrew Sweet, Matt Rohman, Tim Reid, Martin Reid, Neil Cox, David Coleman (Monks)


Peter Harness, Steve Moffat (Writers), Peter Bennett (Producer), Daniel Nettheim (Director), Crispin Layfield (Stunt Coordinator)

Fletcher Rodley (1st Assistant Director), James DeHaviland (2nd Assistant Director), Christoper J Thomas (3rd Assistant Director)

Rhun Llewellyn, Lauren Pate (Assistant Directors), Sean Evans, Paul Watkins (Unit Drivers), Iwan Roberts (Location Manager)

Beccy Jones (Unit Manager), Adam Knopf (Production Manager), Sandra Cosfield (Production Coordinator)

Nicola Chance (Assistant Production Coordinator), Virginia Bonet, Jamie Shaw (Production Assistants)

Matthew Fisher (Assistant Accountant), Bethan Griffiths (Art Department Accountant), Nicki Coles (Script Supervisor)

Lindsay Alford (Script Executive), Emma Genders (Script Editor), Mark McQuoid (Camera Operator)

Jonathan Vidgen, Elhein DE Wet (Focus Pullers), Gethin Williams, Drew Marsden, Dan Patounas (Camera Assistants)

John Johnson (Grip), Sean Cronin (Assistant Grip) , Tam Shoring, Christopher Goding (Sound Maintenance Engineers)

Mark Hutchings (Gaffer), Andy Gardiner (Best Boy), Gawain Nash, Gareth Sheldon, Bob Milton, Sion Davies

Andrew Williams (Electricians), Paul Spriggs (Supervising Art Director), Tim Overson (Art Director)

Christina Tom (Standby Art Director), Adrian Anscombe (Set Decorator), Jen Saguaro (Production Buyer)

Jo Pearce, Charlotte Lailey de Ville (Prop Buyers), Matt Sanders (Draughtsperson)

Paul Smith (Props Master), Kyle Belmont (Prop Chargehand), Matt Ireland, Jonathan Barclay (Standby Props)

Scott Howe, Nigel Magni, Matt Watts (Prop Hands), Jamie Southcott (Storeman), Darren Fereday (Concept Artist)

Lawrence Hearnn (Graphic Artist), Jack Bowes (Graphic Assistant), Paul Jones (Standby Carpenter)

Shadow Rigging (Rigging), Colin Toms (Standby Rigger), Callum Alexander, Austin Curtis (Practical Electricians)

Gareth Fox (Props Driver), Terry Horle (Construction Manager), Dean Tucker (Construction Chargehand)

John Sinnott (Chargehand Carpenter), Tim Burke, Keith Richards, Matt Ferry, Campbell Frazer, Chris Daniels, Joe Painter

George Rees, Alan Jones, Dan Berrow, Mike Venables, Tom Berrow (Carpenters), Jonathan Tylke (Construction Driver)

Jason Tylke (Construction Labourer), Clive Clarke (Head Scenic Artist)

Steve Nelms, John Nelms, Paul Murray, Debby McShane (Painters), Alan Hardy, Jamie Thomas (Model Makers)

Zoe Howerska (Assistant Costume Designer), Kat Wills (Costume Supervisor

Rebecca Cunningham, Leila Headon, Jenny Tindle (Costume Assistants), James Spinks (Make-Up Supervisor)

Megan Bowes, Lolly Goodship (Make-Up Artists), Glyn Evans (Unit Medic), Ri McDaid-Wren (Casting Associate)

Louis Constantine (Casting Assistant), Carol Griggs (Business Affairs Executive), Becky Trotman, David Davies (Assistant Editors)

Dan Rawlings (VFX Editor), Hannah Jones (Post Production Coordinator), Mark Freda, Darran Clement (Dubbing Mixers)

Matthew Cox (ADR Editor), Helen Dickson (Dialogue Editor), Harry Barnes (Sound Effects Editor)

Simon Clement (Foley Editor), Julie Ankerson (Foley Artist), BBC Wales Graphics (Titles)

Billy Hanshaw (Title Concept), Geraint Pari Huws, Mark Hardyman (Online Editors), Christine Kelly (Assistant Online Editor)

Gareth Spensley (Colourist), music conducted & orchestrated by Alistair Kingmusic mixed by Jake Jackson

music recorded by Gerry O'Riordan, Jack Sugden (Music Score Assistant)

Ron Grainer (Original Theme Music), with thanks to the BBC National Orchestra of Wales 

Andy Pryor CDG (Casting Director), Gordon Ronald (Head of Production), Tracie Simpson (Production Executive)

Samantha Price (Post Production Supervisor), Simon Wheeler (Production Accountant), Deian Llyr Humphreys (Sound Recordist)

Hayley Nebauer (Costume Designer), Barbara Southcott (Make-Up Designer), Murray Gold (Music)

Milk, BBC Wales VFX (Visual Effects), Real SFX (Special Effects), Millennium FX (Special Creature Effects & Prosthetics)

Xavier Russell (Editor), Michael Pickwoad (Production Designer), Ashley Rowe (Director of Photography)

Steffan Morris (Line Producer), Steven Moffat, Brian Minchin (Executive Producers)  

Uncredited Crew

Delmi Thomas (2nd Assistant Director), Rhun Llewellyn (3rd Assistant Director), Ella Morgan, Arianhod Engeboe, Max Webborn

Daniel Kikouki, Mauro Taborda, Martin Yarza, Cat Oswald (Assistant Directors), Jolyon Davey, Beverley Spinola, David Purnell

Steve Darwent, Kevin Francis, Monti Jalil, Iry Villegas, Carla Purrinos, Rosa Cano, Ivan Umpierrez, Jose 'Pachi' Padron, Oliver Perez

Eddie Edwards, Mark James, Graham Huxtable, Paul Carmichael, Darren Davies (Unit Drivers), Jose Luis Ayra (Unit Manager)

Bed Fluxa (Production Manager), Richard Pask, Megan Lynas (Script Supervisors), Paul Andrew, Steve Rees, Matt Lepper (Focus Pullers)

Scott Waller, Victoria Harris, Rhodri Wyn Davies (Camera Assistants), Sean Cronin, Gary Sheppeard (Grip)

Aled Roberts, Elliot Sebestyen-Regan (Assistant Grip), Sion Woodman (Assistant Grip [2nd Unit]), Daf Parry (Sound Maintenance Engineer)

Dafydd Shurmer (Art Director), Jamie Farrell (Standby Carpenter), Tom Williams (Standby Rigger)

Gayle Woodsend, Antonella Camponeschi (Costume Assistants), Cathy Davies, Hardian Nobregas, Monika Hrabovcakova (Make-Up Artists)

Richie Brooks (Sound Recordist), Juan 'Nono' Cano (Line Producer)


Filming Locations

  • BBC Roath Lock Studios: Casualty Pub Set, Casualty Lot

  • BBC Roath Lock Studios: Pobol y Cwm Lot

  • West Bute Street, Cardiff Bay

  • Baldwins Crescent, Crymlyn Burrows, Swansea

  • Pilot Laboratory, Swansea University, Bay Campus, Fabian Way, Swansea

  • near Fabian Way, Swansea

  • Hospital Militar de Adades 38588, Santa Cruz de Tenerife

  • BBC Roath Lock Studios: Studio 1

  • BBC Roath Lock Studios: Studio 2

  • BBC Roath Lock Studios: Studio 3

  • BBC Roath Lock Studios: Studio 4

  • eCube Solutions, RAF St Athan, Barry


  • Don Brabbit [killed by the Monks]

  • Security General [killed by the Monks]

  • Ilya [killed by the Monks]

  • Xiaolian [killed by the Monks]​

Production Days

  • 21 Days between Monday 28 November 2016 - Friday 17 March 2017

Production Errors

  1. Although referred to and credited as a Colonel, Dan Brabbit is wearing an insignia of a four star general​​

Working Titles

  • First Contact (number 122)


The episode feels like a forced repeat about world peace and negotiation which The Doctor fails to achieve every time. A run-around tale which provides very little but offer so much than its actually achieves. An underused cast including Togo Igawa who is thrown out of the story as quickly as he was thrown in. Some terrible acting from all of the cast in spite of the constant dangers which are thrown at them. Why the story wasn’t called Three Minutes to Midnight better in a number of ways will always remain a mystery. *​



Number of Production Days: 5

bottom of page